RhymesWithStitch's Blog

Couture Costuming

DragonCon 2012

leave a comment »

On the ride home from Atlanta, every year I tell myself I’m going to lose weight before the next DragonCon.  I’m not sure if it is the great number of amazing bodies in spandex that inspire me; or is it the huge number of obese fans? They are called “fan-sized” for a reason.

And every year the week before D*Con, I look in the mirror and say “F*ck it, I’m going, I’m dressing up crazy and I’m going to have a blast” And I do.

I’ve never understood putting off doing something for “when I get thin”.  Gosh, I’ve been heavy since high school, what would I be if I kept putting off stuff since then?  I wouldn’t have found love, married, had wonderful children, moved across country, traveled and now live the life of Auntie Mame I’ve tried to live.  (my final goal is a butler, but HHB will do for now)

As Auntie Mame says, ” Live! Life’s a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death!”

Next Week I shall gorge myself on fandom and costumes!

I love sewing.

Written by rhymeswithstitch

August 25, 2012 at 9:00 am

Posted in Cons

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

