RhymesWithStitch's Blog

Couture Costuming

DragonCon Overview

leave a comment »

A grand time was had by all, which is saying a lot since we all came down with Botul-coli-monella. At least it was toward the end of the weekend.

I got through three costumes and had a blast at the panels. I learned how to light up dresses, something I’ve wanted  to pick up since the first episode of Big Fat Gypsy Weddings appeared. (and what a frightening show that is.) I enjoyed a vibrant discussion on dying (who knew Rit dyes could be a point of contention) and ignored the misspelling of “Tayloring” to enjoy the panel on the subject of tailoring. 

Anyway, three costumes – One comfy one – A modern Cobbler’s elf, which I don’t have a full picture of, but I’m hoping for pics at Necro, so here are the ears.

One miserably hot one – Zombie Prom – new to D*C but originally from Necro. Christina’s is new.

And the new one – More fun than I expected. My skull had a flickering light and we got fewer blank looks than I would have thought from the crowds.

Next time I would actually write on the boxes, Cigars, Cigarettes, Brains? Or something like that.

Bonus, they were actually comfy.

I love sewing!

Written by rhymeswithstitch

September 9, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Posted in Cons, Sewing

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

