RhymesWithStitch's Blog

Couture Costuming

Quanintrelle

leave a comment »

I love frills and feathers but I wouldn’t be caught dead in a Lolita outfit. The question is,  can you dress up in a Victorian/Rocco/Fairy-tale style without looking like you are trying to pass for a  nine year old? A sexy nine year old? (I think I just threw-up a little in my mouth).

 Yesterday I wrote about some really cute Lolita outfits, what I was really admiring were more aptly called quanintrelle outfits.

 From wikipedia- A quaintrelle is a woman who emphasizes a life of passion expressed through personal style, leisurely pastimes, charm, and cultivation of life’s pleasures.

 I’ve always called the Lolita look, lolly dresses. I think to distance it in my head from Nabokov. I do understand the appeal of the pinafores and crinolines, the silky fabrics and perky hats. But ‘grown ass’ women should look like women not big 4 yr olds.

 While trying to define the differences to myself, I found the idea of the quanintrelle. Most of the links I found circled back around to this woman and her designs.

http://www.quaintrellelife.com/

She is a talented designer using the ‘net  to spread the word on her lifestyle. I like her work and love the idea of quanintrelle instead of Lolita.  

The terminology quanintrelle  is what I’m going to use from now on, I hope it catches on.

 You can have all your flounces and your cute hat, but if I hear you lisping, you are dead to me.

 Something more creative next time, I promise.

Melodie

Written by rhymeswithstitch

July 28, 2010 at 12:03 pm

Posted in Cons

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

